I asked my toddlers “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

I’m not sure how it came up, but recently both Noah and Charlotte told me what they want to be when they grow up. Charlotte recently turned two and Noah is about to turn four years old, so even if they don’t end up with these jobs I think it’s pretty impressive that they have any plan at all for the future at this point. Heck, I’m not sure if I really know what I want to be when I grow up and I just turned 36.

So, what were their answers to the old question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

Let’s start with Charlotte. She loves princesses and putting on dresses so much that I thought she might say she wanted to be a princess. Instead, she shocked me with a real answer of a real job. She said she wants to be a teacher. She doesn’t even know Ashley used to be a teacher (she’s now in administration). I obviously had to follow up with Charlotte and asked her why she wanted to be a teacher. She said she wanted to be a teacher because she liked Noah’s preschool teachers and wanted to be like them. I was proud and impressed. She had only seen Noah’s teachers a couple of times and he wasn’t even in school anymore (it ended in May), but apparently the teachers made an impression on Charlotte. Maybe it’s because Charlotte was with us at Noah’s concert at the end of his school year. She was very interested in that and couldn’t take her eyes off the singing children.

I was so pleased and impressed with Charlotte’s answer. So, what was Noah’s answer, you ask? Well, Noah took it in a different direction. He went with a typical Noah-type answer. When he grows up, he wants to be… Spider-Man. He didn’t have any reasoning or additional information for me. But really, what could I ask for? I mean, Spider-Man, what little boy wouldn’t want to be Spider-Man? That could be a more dangerous job than Charlotte’s job, but I’m sure being Spider-Man would be quite interesting and exciting. If Noah still wants to be Spider-Man in say 15 or 20 years that could be a problem. I might eventually need to have a serious conversation with my boy, but for now I’m completely on board with his aspirations.

IMG_0497

So, there you have it, these kids have their goals. I will do my best to help them reach them (well, Charlotte at least). Oh, and by the way, I asked them both what they wanted to be several times and they both stuck with the same answers.

