Recently Noah and I developed a secret handshake together. It’s very simple, but I also think it’s very awesome. I suppose it’s more the idea of sharing a “cool handshake” with my son that I really like. This is something that I want to be just for me and Noah. Boys only. Noah may have done the handshake with Ashley a couple of times, but I pretend that he’s done it only because he doesn’t want to hurt her feelings. It should strictly be a father-son thing.  Correction… I want it to be a father-son thing. Ok, I just really like the idea of having something for just us. Once Charlotte’s ready and able (which will probably be very soon) I’d like to have some kind of cool handshake with her, too.

So, here it is. This is a step-by-step guide to the best handshake ever.

First, Noah and I pound our fists.

img_2063

Next we touch thumbs.

img_2064

Then we transition to a formal handshake.

img_2065

And… that’s it. Super complicated, right? I still love it! I can’t help it. I think all dads should create a secret handshake with their kids. Maybe Noah and I will continually add more steps to our handshake to make it more complicated or maybe we’ll just leave it simple like it is. Either way is fine with me as long as we carry on our special handshake.

img_2066

