So, Noah’s blue blanket is probably his favorite thing in the world. Either that, his tractor, or chocolate eggs (I’ll get to those another day). His blanket though, is not just something he loves, it’s something he needs (at least if you ask him). It helps soothe and comfort him. He holds it tightly when he’s tired or sad. He always sleeps with it and prefers to have it with him in the car. Sometimes he wants it with him just about everywhere.

Noah is about three and a half years old. He has had his favorite blue blanket since he was baby, but didn’t grow attached to it for a while. I’m not sure how old he was when he essentially married his blanket, probably sometime between when he was six months and a year old. It is light blue in color with a small giraffe in one corner. It has had a couple of holes in it for at least a year. There are frayed edges and a couple of black stains that won’t go away.

Things got worse for Noah’s blanket once we stopped using his pacifier. Ever since then he randomly chews on his blanket. He doesn’t do it too often, but when he’s very tired or cranky, there’s a good chance you’ll see a corner of his blanket in his mouth. The wet blanket is beyond disgusting. If he’s sleeping or resting next to me and all of a sudden a wet portion of the blanket touches my skin I immediately pull it off of me and tell Noah not to let it touch me.

Not only does the wet blanket fell gross to the touch, it reeks! It smells so incredibly bad it makes me want to puke. We steal it away from him and toss it in the laundry every couple of days, but it’s a very temporary fix. Within hours Noah’s blanket is repulsive once more.

Long ago Ashley and I tried finding a duplicate blanket, but had no luck. We think it was either a baby shower gift or else given to him soon after his birth. We have no idea where it was from. We have certainly considered getting rid of it, but Noah adores it and I know it would absolutely crush him if it were to disappear.

img_1860

We actually had a close call on Christmas night. It was around 8:00 p.m. when we got home from my parents’ house. We unloaded the car and brought several gifts into the house. Ashley brought Charlotte upstairs to put her in her crib for the night. Then I got a phone call from my mom. She told me that we left Noah’s blanket at their house. With all the hubbub of opening presents, celebrating the holiday with family, and then quickly packing things up we didn’t realize we forgot his blanket.

Thankfully, my parents live about five minutes away. My mom told me that my sister just left their house and she was going to drop the blanket off at my house so I didn’t have to leave again. It was great news. I told Noah we left his blanket at his grandma and grandpa’s house and asked if he would be alright for the night without it. He told me that it was OK, but his emotions did not match his words. His eyes welled up and he was on the verge of tears. I told him not to worry, his blanket was on its way home. We sat by the window together for the next few minutes, watching and waiting for my sister and his blanket. He was ecstatic when she arrived and he hugged his smelly blanket triumphantly.

img_2035

 

