Different Diets

Sometimes it fascinates me just how different my two kids are from each other. I suppose it’s a given, but even at this young age there are plenty of obvious differences. As I write this Noah is almost 3 ½ years old and Charlotte is 19 months. Like I said, there are lots of differences between the two, but right now I’d like to focus on the difference in their diets.

Here it is in a nut shell: Noah eats nothing and Charlotte eats everything. Ashley and I are both picky eaters. I’d argue that I’m a little more open to trying new foods and am not quite as picky as my wife, but it’s debatable. So, I guess it shouldn’t come as a huge surprise that Noah is like us. But if we’re bad eaters, Noah is the worst eater in the world.

1507071_10152202273876093_1735890598_n

Let me list what Noah likes to eat: Yogurt (strawberry and blueberry), pretzels (they have to be very small), Tostitos Scoops, chocolate, wheat bread (preferably the crust), and that’s about it. He used to eat chicken nuggets, some cereal, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, bacon, waffles, and a few other things. For whatever reason he has cut that last group of foods out of his diet. Even bacon! What person, let alone child of mine, doesn’t like bacon? It baffles me. Yet, he continues to gain weight, so his doctors aren’t too worried. Now that I think about it, Noah’s become a vegetarian. Meanwhile, I’m about as far from a vegetarian as they come.

img_1300

Then there’s Charlotte. We typically don’t even have to make her anything special, because she’ll almost always eat whatever we’re having. She loves pretty much all breakfast foods (pancakes, waffles, scrambled eggs, French toast, bacon). She’ll eat sandwiches, chicken, pasta, rice, and some fruits and vegetables. She is such a better eater than Noah. It’s like night and day.

We’re just thankful that we have one good eater and continue to try to get Noah to eat different things (but are rarely successful). So, if you have any tips, let me know.

14212000_10209882225589152_3339896810287642777_n

